“To check if everything is fine”


In the second week of September that took place in the north of Kassel “To check if everything is fine” Festival takes place. Hundreds of people came to hear together over five days, Discuss and spend time together.

About 30 Workshops, The participants could give lectures and plays:visit inside the festival from Wednesday to Sunday. From events to anti-abortionists, about right-wing extremism in gaming, up to Islamism and Turkish nationalism in Kassel was according to the motto “political education, Education and awareness” drew attention to various manifestations of the political right. The highlight of the overall very well attended festival was the “Asylum Monologues” of the “Stage for human rights” on Saturday night.

“There is no conspiracy, no secret plan of dark forces in the corona crisis. What is happening these days is as obvious as it is unbearable: Capital interests are enforced, flanked by the state apparatus and legitimized by a public discourse, who speaks the word to right-wing extremists - be it with or without uniform.”

Opening speech of the “To check if everything is fine”

According to the goal, to educate about right tendencies in society, The festival also addressed the current economic and social crisis and the mobilizations against the Corona ordinances. In the opening speech, for example, reference was made to the anti-Semitic thought patterns widespread there. At the same time it was emphasized, that the answer, however, should not be simple, to defend the supposedly enlightened society. Instead, the reasonableness of the normal state itself must be questioned.

Beyond the political debates, there was also a wide range of youth- and cultural program. Concerts could be held again this summer with a hygiene concept and in the open air: “Lena disruptive factor” and the music project “Rapfugees” performed in the boreal next to the slaughterhouse.

A co-organizer was happy with the way the festival went. The “To check if everything is fine” had been great for him this year despite the adverse circumstances. One must now in the coming days “the many good impressions, but also the things that didn't go so well” process and discuss it first.

“The ‘See what is right’ is just one of many steps to take to counteract the current intensifying social tendencies. The positive response shows the importance and necessity of the festival as a place for reflection, for networking and exchange in Kassel.”

Co-organizer after the end of the festival

Whether the festival will take place again next summer after two successful years, could only show the coming year. The will and the need for it definitely persist, so the organizer.

Regardless of that “To check if everything is fine” pulled one last Saturday evening too anti-fascist demonstration past the festival area through the Kassel Nordstadt. It should be shown obviously, that there is still no place in the district for fascists of all stripes.

“Nach dem Rechten sehen”


In der zweiten Septemberwoche fand in der Kasseler Nordstadt das “Nach dem Rechten sehen” Festival statt. Hunderte Menschen kamen an fünf Tagen zum gemeinsamen Hören, Diskutieren und Zeit verbringen zusammen.

Über 30 Workshops, Vorträge und Theaterstücke konnten die Teilnehmer:innen des Festivals von Mittwoch bis Sonntag besuchen. Von Veranstaltungen zu Abtreibungsgegner/innen, über Rechtsextremismus im Gaming, bis hin zu Islamismus und türkischen Nationalismus in Kassel wurde gemäß dem Motto “politische Bildung, Aufklärung und Sensibilisierung” auf verschiedene Erscheinungsformen der politischen Rechten aufmerksam gemacht. Höhepunkt des insgesamt sehr gut besuchten Festivals bildeten dabei die “Asyl-Monologe” von der “Bühne für Menschenrechte” am Samstagabend.

“Es gibt keine Verschwörung, keinen Geheimplan dunkler Mächte in der Coronakrise. Was dieser Tage passiert ist vielmehr ebenso offensichtlich wie unerträglich: Kapitalinteressen werden durchgesetzt, flankiert vom Staatsapparat und legitimiert von einem öffentlichen Diskurs, der den Rechtsradikalen – sei es mit oder ohne Uniform – das Wort redet.”

Eröffnungsrede des “Nach dem Rechten sehen”

Entsprechend dem Ziel, über rechte Tendenzen in der Gesellschaft aufzuklären, thematisierte das Festival auch die gegenwärtige ökonomisch-soziale Krise sowie die Mobilisierungen gegen die Corona-Verordnungen. So wurde etwa in der Eröffnungsrede auf die dort verbreiteten antisemitischen Denkmuster hingewiesen. Zugleich wurde betont, dass die Antwort dagegen nicht einfach lauten dürfe, die vermeintliche aufgeklärte Gesellschaft zu verteidigen. Stattdessen müsse die Vernünftigkeit des Normalzustandes selbst in Frage gestellt werden.

Jenseits der politischen Diskussionsveranstaltungen gab es auch ein breites Jugend- und Kulturprogramm. Mit Hygienekonzept und unter freiem Himmel konnte auch in diesem Sommer wieder Konzerte veranstaltet werden: “Lena Störfaktor” und das Musikprojekt “Rapfugees” traten im Boreal neben dem Schlachthof auf.

Ein Mitveranstalter zeigte sich glücklich über den Verlauf das Festivals. Das “Nach dem Rechten sehen” sei für ihn dieses Jahr auch trotz der widrigen Umständen großartig gewesen. Man müsse nun in den kommenden Tagen “die viele guten Eindrücke, aber auch die Dinge die nicht so gut gelaufen sind” erst einmal verarbeiten und nachbesprechen.

“Das ‘Nach dem Rechten sehen’ ist nur einer von vielen Schritt um gegen die sich gegenwärtig verschärfenden gesellschaftlichen Tendenzen vorzugehen. In der positiven Resonanz zeigt sich die Bedeutung und Notwendigkeit des Festivals als Ort zur Reflexion, zur Vernetzung und zum Austausch in Kassel.”

Mitveranstalter nach Ende des Festivals

Ob das Festival nach den zwei erfolgreichen Jahren auch nächsten Sommer wieder stattfinden wird, könne erst das kommende Jahr zeigen. Der Wille und und die Notwendigkeit dafür bestehen auf jeden Fall weiter, so der Veranstalter.

Unabhängig von dem “Nach dem Rechten Sehen” zog am vergangen Samstagabend auch eine antifaschistische Demonstration am Festivalgelände vorbei durch die Kasseler Nordstadt. Dabei sollte augenscheinlich gezeigt werden, dass es im Stadtvierteil weiterhin keinen Platz für Faschist/innen aller Couleur gibt.


Verwandte Artikel

Leider wurden keine Beiträge gefunden.