“I want to take care of it, that that doesn't happen to anyone anymore "

On the evening of 19. October 2021 two people were attacked by Nazis in Nordstadtpark. One person was briefly in mortal danger, a second person was at risk of losing sight. With Blake, one of the attacked people, we talked about the incident and its consequences - but also about his political fight against queerophobia and racism.

Die Knastrevolte in der ‘Elwe’

Am 24.07. is the anniversary of the revolt from approx. 40 Deportation detainees in the Kassel JVA 'Elwe' for 27. Times. The revolting protesters protested against the threat of deportation and the disastrous conditions of detention.

Demo “Remember. resistance. Consequences. " at the 08. May

The initiative organized on Liberation Day “Anti-fascist May” a demonstration with several intermediate rallies, at the up to 500 People participated. Under the motto “Remember. resistance. Consequences. " attention was drawn to right-wing activities in Kassel and left-wing struggles were taken to the streets.

Rally against police violence

Knapp 100 People have on 31. March 2021 Demonstrated against police violence in front of the main train station. The rally was held at short notice on the occasion of a current case of police violence, which had happened the previous evening in Kassel, called.

"Leyla und Meryem: STAY!“

On Monday the 01.03.2021 demanded around 200 People in front of the town hall “Leyla and Meryem: stay". They demonstrated for the secure residence and a work permit for Leyla and Meryem Lacin. The rally was organized by the initiative for Leyla and Meryem consisting of friends of Leyla and Meryem.

Rally for decentralized accommodation for refugees

70 People have on 29. October 2020 one 17:30 Demonstrated in front of the town hall for the decentralized accommodation of refugees and access to medical care for all people. The protest was directed against the living conditions in the initial reception facility for refugees in Kassel Niederzwehren.

Corona outbreak in the initial reception center

On Thursday, Kassel was officially declared a corona risk area. The trigger was the infection of at least one that had become known the day before 112 Residents of the refugee facility in Niederzwehren. We spoke to a resident by phone about the local conditions.

Demo on the occasion 5 Jahre ‘march of hope’

Am 05.09.2020 fand in Kassel die Demonstration „We’ll come united- 5 years march of hope“ statt. round 200 Protesters moved from the main train station to the city center, to demonstrate against racism and the restrictive migration policy of the federal government.

Die Knastrevolte in der ‘Elwe’

Am 24.07. jährt sich die Revolte von ca. 40 Abschiebehäftlingen in der Kasseler JVA ‚Elwe‘ zum 27. Mal. Die Revoltierenden protestierten damals gegen die ihnen drohende Abschiebung sowie die desaströsen Haftbedingungen.

Demo “Erinnern. Widerstand. Konsequenzen.” am 08. Mai

Zum Tag der Befreiung organisierte die Initiative “Antifaschistischer Mai” eine Demonstration mit mehreren Zwischenkundgebungen, an der bis zu 500 Personen teilnahmen. Unter dem Motto “Erinnern. Widerstand. Konsequenzen.” wurde sowohl auf rechte Aktivitäten in Kassel hingewiesen als auch linke Kämpfe auf die Straße getragen.

Kundgebung gegen Polizeigewalt

Knapp 100 Menschen haben am 31. März 2021 vor dem Hauptbahnhof gegen Polizeigewalt demonstriert. Zur Kundgebung wurde kurzfristig anlässlich eines aktuellen Falls von Polizeigewalt, der sich am Vorabend in Kassel ereignet hatte, aufgerufen.

„Leyla und Meryem: BLEIBEN!“

Am Montag den 01.03.2021 forderten rund 200 Menschen vor dem Rathaus „Leyla und Meryem: bleiben“. Sie demonstrierten damit für den gesicherten Aufenthalt und eine Arbeitserlaubnis für Leyla und Meryem Lacin. Organisiert wurde die Kundgebung von der Initiative für Leyla und Meryem bestehend aus den Freunden und Freundinnen von Leyla und Meryem.

Kundgebung für dezentrale Unterbringung von geflüchteten Menschen

70 Personen haben am 29. Oktober 2020 um 17:30 vor dem Rathaus für die dezentrale Unterbringung von Geflüchteten und Zugang zu medizinischer Versorgung für alle Menschen demonstriert. Der Protest richtete sich dabei gegen die Lebensbedingungen in der Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung für Geflüchtete in Kassel Niederzwehren.

Corona-Ausbruch in Erstaufnahmelager

Am Donnerstag ist Kassel offiziell zum Corona-Risikogebiet erklärt worden. Auslöser war die am Vortag bekannt gewordene Infektion von mindestens 112 Bewohner*innen der Geflüchteteneinrichtung in Niederzwehren. Wir sprachen mit einem Bewohner telefonisch über die Bedingungen vor Ort.

Demo anlässlich 5 Jahre ‘march of hope’

Am 05.09.2020 fand in Kassel die Demonstration „We’ll come united- 5 years march of hope“ statt. Rund 200 Demonstrant*innen zogen vom Hauptbahnhof in die Innenstadt, um gegen Rassismus und die restriktive Migrationspolitik der Bundesregierung zu demonstrieren.

Mahnwache: Gedenken an die Opfer des rassistischen Anschlags in Hanau

Wie in vielen weiteren deutschen Städten wurde am 19. August auch in Kassel den durch einen rassistischen Terroranschlag in Hanau im Februar 2020 ermordeten Menschen gedacht. Um das Gedenken auch sechs Monate nach dem Anschlag aufrecht zu erhalten, hatte der Ausländerbeitrat der Stadt Kassel zu einer Mahnwache vor dem Rathaus aufgerufen.